2011 House Accomplishments

14 Jan

Speaking of 2012 house goals, how about a recap of what was accomplished around here in 2011?

The biggest project by far occurred on the outside. Here’s what we started with:

Brown and orangey cream 70’s color scheme? Rotted soffits? 50 year old door literally coming apart at the seams? Dented vinyl siding? Check, check, check and check.

We purchased a mahogany door (stained, sealed and hung ourselves), had the vinyl siding on the gable replaced with hardi shake, had everything that was rotting replaced, and everything was freshened up with a new coat of paint. I love pulling into the driveway now. I’ll love it even more when the front is properly landscaped.

The family room started 2011 pretty bare and full of a hodge podge of furnishings

I updated the room with a fresh coat of paint, a new couch slipcover (Ikea, of course), seagrass rug, oversized botanical prints (you may recognize them from here and here. I’m a total copy cat), and lighting among other things.

The furniture is all new as well, or in the case of the apothecary cabinet, new to us. We purchased it off Craigslist for $80 a couple of years ago. We brought it home looking like this:

And after looooooots of sanding (there are 42 (!) drawers total), staining and sealing, the cabinet is now my favorite piece of furniture in the house.

The family room took a long time to come together (and it will continue to evolve, I’m sure), but I love it and I love that it doesn’t have the “5 piece set” feel to it (but still goes together – to me anyway!).

In the kitchen, the lower cabinets got a new coat of paint that was less … brown (I painted the cabinets before we moved in and didn’t have much of a vision or feel for how it would come together at the time).

I purchased the Pottery Barn rug and added the black and white transferware over the window (a gift from my mother-in-law).

We added and painted this old Ikea sideboard for more storage on a blank wall and built the shelves above.

Before:

After:

Still learning how to style the shelves.

The dining room was also finished up, but I’m not sure how much I love it yet. It will be tweaked more over time.

I mentioned in the 2012 house goals post that the pantry was in for an overhaul this year. However, I did make one improvement already to the inside of the pantry door.

I LOVE having my spices organized this way now. But don’t be impressed my creativity. The idea, down to the Martha Stewart labels, came from here. Thank you, internet.

So that’s the 2011 recap. Progress! I love it!

14 Responses to “2011 House Accomplishments”

  1. Heather January 16, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    Just love your kitchen! Would you mind sharing your cabinet and wall paint colors? Thanks so much and great job!

    • house185 January 16, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      Hi Heather! Thanks for the kind words! The upper cabinets are in Behr’s Eggshell Cream and the lowers are in Valspar’s Safari Beige. The wall color is Glidden’s Sand White. Thanks so much for stopping by :)

      • Heather January 17, 2012 at 9:15 am #

        Thank you again!

  2. Amy March 19, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    BIG question! We are wanting to paint our kitchen cabinets (builder grade, pickled oak stain…yuck!). Would you consider sharing how you accomplished your beautiful paint job? We’re a little nervous and unsure of how to go about it!

  3. house185 March 19, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Hi Amy! Painting cabinets is a lot of work, but you won’t regret it!

    Before painting, I cleaned the cabinets and roughed them up with sand paper. I wiped them down again to remove any dust, then primed them with oil based primer. From there, I put 2-3 coats of paint on making sure to leave plenty of drying time in between. There’s nothing difficult about it – it’s just very time consuming.

    There are a TON of awesome tutorials out there with detailed instructions on painting cabinets. Here’s a detailed one to get you started if you’d like more info! http://www.younghouselove.com/2012/01/how-to-paint-your-cabinets-aka-hallelujah/

    • Amy March 19, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

      Thanks so much! I checked out the link….so helpful. We were wondering what kind of paint to use, and it answered that question and so many more. Great!

  4. melissa March 20, 2012 at 3:45 am #

    Hi, I came over from Holly’s blog and LOVE everything you’ve done w/your house! It looks great. I’m curious if you know the name of the Ikea spice racks? I’m not able to find them listed on their website. I’m hoping they’re not discontinued, they’re genius!

    • house185 March 20, 2012 at 9:33 am #

      Hi Melissa! They’re called Rationell Variera, but I can’t find them on the website either. I’m pretty sure I’ve seen them in the store recently, so hopefully they haven’t been discontinued. Hope you can get your hands on them because they’ve been a great addition to the kitchen!

  5. Alison Ingle March 20, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Hey. I am hoping you will “share the love”….where did you get the botanical prints?
    I actually started following your blog bc those caught my attention. Love your home!

  6. Jennifer Lam May 29, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Hello! I wondered about the huge frames for your botanical prints! Were those DIY and did you do glass over the art? Sorry if you have this elsewhere on the blog! Love the framing!

    • house185 May 31, 2012 at 9:04 am #

      Hi Jennifer! The cost of having the prints custom framed was waaaaaay out of our budget, so we made them ourselves. I had the prints mounted on foam core at Hobby Lobby then my husband made the frames for them. There isn’t any glass over the prints. I hope this helps!

  7. Ambrose August 2, 2014 at 10:38 am #

    Hey there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 3gs!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog
    and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

  8. Modesta October 1, 2014 at 12:40 pm #

    Have you any idea if its easy to find a round table to seat
    twelve? For a long time I’ve been searching online however I can’t seem to
    see much more than very small tables

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

