Curtains and Entry Progress

22 Jan

Adding curtains to the 2 windows in the family room has been on my to-do list forever. Last weekend it finally moved its way up to the top of the list. I purchased 2 panels of Pottery Barn’s Cameron drapes in ivory (hot tip: PB outlets sell them for $5 less per panel). Each panel is 50 inches wide, and my windows are only 35 inches wide. Since there isn’t a whole lot of room on either side of my windows to hang the curtains wider than the window, I opted to cut the panels in half.

After hemming the cut edges, I wanted to add a little bit of color. I purchased this quilt binding

Then ironed it open

And attached it to the inside edge of each panel and hung the curtains from drapery rings.

I purchased these curved rods because I didn’t think traditional rods would fit into the tight space next to the window above. This window literally bumps up against the kitchen cabinets. The curved rods worked perfectly.

While I was busy working on the curtains, Steve decided the chair rail in the entry and hallway had lived its last day.

And while I spent this weekend laid up on the couch with a terrible cold, Steve started patching the walls.

I suspect the walls will need a couple more coats of spackle and a lot of sanding before we’re ready to add new moulding. We’re planning on going with a board and batten style, but we still need to figure out the height and spacing.

Also completed this weekend: I started working on my House Tour page. I still need to add the bedrooms and bathrooms, but let’s be real, I wasn’t about to clean them for photos this weekend :)

6 Responses to “Curtains and Entry Progress”

  1. Whitney@Drab To Fab Design January 23, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    Those look awesome!! I love the curved curtain rod, and the hint of green looks great with the ivory. I can’t wait to see what you do in your hallway :)

  2. Melanie @ Mailbox Journey January 25, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    They look great!
    I love your fireplace & front door.

  3. Bryn March 19, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    I’ve been looking for wrap-around drapery rods for a long time! Thank you! I just ordered some from Amazon!

  4. Karen July 20, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Hi, I’m not sure if you will see this, but if you do….would you mind telling me how you attached the drapery rings to your drapes? They look very nice!
    Many thanks, Karen

    • house185 July 20, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

      Hi Karen! I use drapery pin hooks. Here’s what they look like and a link to where you can purchase them on amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Heavy-Duty-Drapery-Pin-Hooks/dp/B004CS39UY

      I usually get them from Hobby Lobby or Joannes. They’re typically with curtain rods and grommets and other drapery accessories. You just insert the sharp tip of the pin into the top of the curtain panel and slip the ring on. I don’t like the look of the clips on drapery rings, so I use these pins on all my curtains. I actually just used them on some curtains I made for the dining room. When I post about it, I’ll show how I attached them then.

      Thanks for reading!

      • Karen July 21, 2012 at 10:58 am #

        Thanks for your response…I agree, much better looking than clips. Definitely using the pins. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

