Weekend In Review

12 Mar

I’d say this weekend was one of the most fabulous weekends I’ve had in a while!

Friday night we enjoyed a sushi dinner (my favorite) followed by some appliance hunting. Because our white dishwasher just wasn’t doing it for me.

We found exactly what we were looking for at a great price, and picked the new dishwasher up Sunday. Here’s a blurry pic of it taken at the store:

More pics when it’s fully installed (and my kitchen doesn’t look like a bomb went off in it).

Saturday morning I headed to Scott’s Antique Market for a tour guided by the incredibly talented and creative Eddie Ross. The two hour tour was a real treat, and I learned so much. I think I’m generally pretty open minded and creative when it comes to reusing and repurposing items found in thrift stores, estate sales, antique markets, etc, but I walked away feeling like a total novice with so much to learn.

I didn’t take any pictures, but you can check out Eddie’s twitter for a bunch of photos from the tour.

Afterward, I spent about an hour browsing and walked away with this beautiful alabaster lamp:

And these sweet antique pillow cases:

Once home, Steve and I headed to my parents house about an hour north to spend the night with them and my sister and her family. I’ve been collecting silver platters to group together on the dining room wall, and my dad saw the beginnings of my collection the last time he was at our house. He mentioned that I may be interested in my mother’s silver that she’s has stored away for years. I asked to see it while we were there and was blown away when my parents pulled out an entire trunk full of silver! Silver coffee and tea urns, a sugar and creamer, bowls, wine goblets, wine bottle coasters, bowls, several platters, candle sticks and on and on. And I had no idea any of this existed!

My mother is an accomplished golfer, and she won the majority of the pieces in tournaments in the 60’s and 70’s. She said they used many of the pieces early in their marriage, but it’s been preserved in this trunk for decades. She offered it all to me, and I am so, so thrilled to have it.

Here’s the inspiration for my dining room wall (from here):

I spent a little time playing with the platters I’ve gathered over the last several months and the ones my parents gave me this weekend. Here’s a rough idea of what I’d like to do (laid out on the family room rug):

Steve and I headed back to Scott’s after we left my parents Sunday morning. Steve hunted down some old hand tools to restore, and I enjoyed walking through the market again (so much to see!). The rest of the day was spent enjoying the wonderful Spring weather (even if it involved mowing the lawn :)).

I hope you all enjoyed an equally wonderful weekend!

5 Responses to “Weekend In Review”

  1. Lisa March 12, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the idea of the tray collection on the wall! The ones in the original picture are varying in their shades of tarnish. Do you think you will let yours do this or will you attempt to keep them polished?

    • house185 March 12, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      Hi Lisa! I really, really love the look of the tarnished silver. The variation is so pretty, isn’t it? But it takes a lot of neglect for silver to tarnish like in the inspiration photo, so I’ll keep them polished. Thanks for reading!

      • Faye Wishik August 9, 2014 at 3:21 pm #

        Love the tray collection. How did you hang them?
        Thanks

      • house185 August 17, 2014 at 9:36 am #

        Thanks! Most are hung with adhesive plate hangers. The ones with feet are rigged with wire.

  2. Diana @ Boy + Girl March 13, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    Your trays are absolutely stunning! And those pillow cases – super sweet!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

