Kitchen Complete

20 Mar

But before we get into that, let’s talk about yesterday morning. I woke up to find that an upstanding resident of Florida got their hands on our debit card number and spent the weekend dining at fine establishments (Checkers, for example) on our dime. Then I spilled coffee all over my car as I spent 60 minutes commuting 15 miles (usually only takes 30). It was a rough way to start a Monday.

But then Holly Mathis, who I have been inspired by ever since I came across her a year ago, wrote a nice post featuring part of my house and blog, and my day was filled with sweet comments from new readers. It was so wonderful to hear from each one of you! Thank you all so much for the kind words. I’ll need them as encouragement as we continue working on the rest of the house!

One thing we won’t be working on is the kitchen … because since the installation of our new dishwasher, it’s done!

Here’s where we started at the end of 2009.

Neither one of us liked the curve at the top of the upper cabinet doors and the brown Corian countertops still don’t do it for us. But we didn’t have the budget to change these things at the time, and neither one of us felt right about tearing out perfectly nice solid wood doors and expensive countertops. So we worked with them!

Before we even moved in, I painted the cabinets. And we continued to work on the kitchen slowly over time. In all we replaced the faucet, added the beadboard backsplash and corbels under the cabinets, replaced all the hardware, purchased new appliances, added a cabinet and open shelves on an empty wall, and redid the lighting.

And now we have a finished kitchen.

What a great feeling! I really love how it turned out, and I feel so lucky that we started with good bones (tiled floors, solid cabinets, nice solid surface countertops) and were able to make it ours relatively inexpensively.

That said, if I were to do it again, I would do just a couple of things differently:

I would have purchased a counter depth fridge. I had no idea fridges came in different depths, and my heart sank when ours was delivered and it felt like it stuck halfway out into the kitchen. I don’t notice it anymore, but I’m glad I know for the future!

I also would have purchased a wall mounted range hood. At the time, the added expense of wall mounted vs. under cabinet mounted didn’t seem worth it. Plus, we would have had to deal with taking the existing cabinet out and then redo the crown molding.

But don’t let these caveats fool you. I 100% love my kitchen. And I’m 100% happy it’s D.O.N.E!

32 Responses to “Kitchen Complete”

  1. Wendy March 20, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    Love it! Great job!
    Thanks for sharing that about the frig. I didn’t know that either. We’re hoping to replace ours soon, so that is good to know.

  2. Sara - High Cotton Handmade March 21, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    Love your adorable blog and your beautiful house! Thank you so much for taking the time to link to all of the resources you found handy in renovations. We are renovating an old house too – and your links are so very helpful. Many thanks!

  3. Teresa March 21, 2012 at 5:40 am #

    Looks awesome! All that hard work definitely paid off!

  4. Kimberly P. March 21, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    absolutely love your home. You have such wonderful style. Where did you find both of the gunnerra prints in your living room? Looks like only one is available. Thank you for sharing your home, you are an inspiration.

    • house185 March 21, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      Hi Kimberly – thank you so much! I purchased mine a year ago, and I had a hard time getting my hands on both of them even then. You’re right, I think only one is available now. Thanks for reading!

  5. Gabbi March 21, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Congrats on a completed kitchen! It’s absolutely beautiful! :)

  6. katrina March 21, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    love your home and can’t wait to follow your blog…. found you via holly mathis. could you share the source for the rug in your family room? thanks a bunch!

  7. Karen March 21, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    Hi…I also found you through Holly’s post yesterday and I’m so glad I did. Love your home and your style….just gorgeous! Congratulations on finishing your kitchen…it is beautiful. I LOVE your black appliances….such a great look (I am not a stainless steel fan!).

    Would you mind telling me what the gray color on your cabinets is? I’m pretty sure I’m having mine cabinets painted gray and I really like your choice. Thanks so much!

    Karen

    • house185 March 21, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

      Karen, thank you so much! I’m so glad you stopped by! The lower cabs are painted Valspar Safari Beige. The swatch looks more brown, but I find the color looks more green or gray depending on the light!

  8. Diana @ Boy + Girl March 22, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    I 100% love your kitchen too! Absolutely gorgeous. And your furniture piece was the inspiration for my ktichen furniture piece! Thanks for that!

    • house185 March 22, 2012 at 9:30 am #

      What a nice thing to say! Thanks, Diana!

  9. Whitney @ Drab to Fab Design March 22, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Looks so beautiful!! I think you guys did an amazing job! And I totally get what you mean about how nice comments can be so uplifting!

  10. Kitchen Cabinet Doors April 6, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    Nice post

  11. Deanna @ TheChangingHouse April 16, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Your kitchen is soo so nice! I love your choices in colours, shelving, cabinet style… everything is really appealing.

  12. beauty4ashesblog April 23, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    Love your kitchen! I love the colors, especially the green. I also really like the additional storage you got by adding a dresser and some shelves to a blank wall. I’ve been looking for a dresser for my kitchen to do just that. Found you through Pinterest!

    • house185 April 23, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

      Thanks so much! Best of luck with your dresser search!

  13. Shelly May 16, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    I know this may sound silly, but what kind of light bulbs do you use? Everything looks so bright white and not yellow. :-)

    • house185 May 16, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      Hi Shelly – they’re halogens. And you’re right, they’re bright white. It makes a HUGE difference!

      • Shelly May 16, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

        Thanks! Last question, what color did you use for your walls?

      • house185 May 16, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

        It’s Glidden’s Sand White :)

  14. Sher May 20, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    What colors were used on the cabinets , top and bottom . Did you use latex paint ?

    • house185 May 21, 2012 at 9:52 am #

      Hi Sher! The uppers are Behr’s Eggshell Cream and the lowers are Valspar’s Safari Beige. I used plain ole latex paint in eggshell sheen.

  15. Andrea August 8, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    Looks beautiful! Where in the world did you find the open shelving? I haven’t found anything that holds weight with my google searches.

    • house185 August 9, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      Hi Andrea! We made them! The shelf itself and the brackets underneath are screwed into the studs so they are very sturdy and hold weight.

  16. Karey Brower November 16, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    This is no lie, as i was looking at all of your pics i noticed so many similarities in our home. we just moved a year ago into a 1964 red brick home. have done so much but have so much left to do. I do want to paint our shutters a dark gray / slate color, is yours black or dark gray? We are also going to try to save $$ by painting kitchen cabinets although they are not even as nice as yours, everything is ORIGINAL to the home. ugh, what COLOR did you do your bottom cabinets?? I like it a lot. We have several built-ins and i feel this would help break up the color. right now everything is wood.

    • house185 November 16, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

      Hi Karey! Our shutters are dark gray – Sherwin Williams Seal Skin. The lower cabinets are Valspar’s Safari Beige. Maybe you could add some moulding to the face of the doors or crown moulding above the cabinets to update them a bit? I know we got extremely lucky with having nice kitchen cabs to start! Best of luck – it’s a lot of work but little by little it all starts to come together! Love that my house reminds you of yours!

  17. Wendy January 30, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    Hi Kate,

    I love your kitchen…. Did you paint the beadboard backsplash the same color as the upper cabinets? Also, what about the crown moulding and other kitchen trim?..

    Your house is beautiful!!!

    • house185 January 30, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

      Hi Wendy! Thanks so much! The beadboard backsplash and crown moulding and all other trim is bright white. The upper cabs are cream. Hope this helps!

  18. Christine July 20, 2014 at 4:07 pm #

    I know you said you built the shelves yourself, I was wondering what type of wood you used?

    • house185 July 28, 2014 at 3:18 pm #

      It’s sheet plywood built around a frame. Pretty sure I got the tutorial from Ana White’s site.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dark bottom cabinets with white upper -- for someday... @ My-House-My-HomeMy-House-My-Home - June 17, 2013

    […] Learn More Here! […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

