The State of the Yard, Spring 2013

1 Apr

Hello, Friends! It’s been awhile! The unexpected (but very necessary) purchase of a new furnace and water heater at the very end of January kind of took the wind out of our renovating budget sails.

photo

You’re looking at the end of my dreams for a screened in porch to sunroom conversion this year. Oh well. There’s always next year. Upward and onward.

Now that Spring is upon us, I have been itching to get into the yard. We re-landscaped the front yard last year, but there’s still a bit to do out there. Remember this little bed?

photo

I planted carissa hollys along the back and filled in the rest with asiatic jasmine ground cover. Looks so promising, doesn’t it? Well, here’s how it looked a few weeks ago.

photo

Womp. Womp.

I fought an unending weed battle all year in this bed, and I think it’s fair to say I lost the war. Even worse, a little critter came along last Fall and feasted on the jasmine. Half of the darn plants were reduced to sticks.

So a couple of weekends ago I carefully removed the jasmine and took off the top several inches of soil in hopes of getting rid of the majority of the weed seeds. Then I put down some fresh top soil and replanted the jasmine. I picked up some repellent spray to keep the hungry critters at bay, so my hopes are high that we’re headed in the right direction.

I wanted to add a bit more interest to this bed so I decided to add a container garden. I took a container gardening class at a local nursery last weekend, and this is what I ended up with:

photo

And here it is in the new and improved bed:

photo

 

photo

My favorite part is the lemon cypress in the planter. If you run your fingers over the foliage, they smell like lemon. I love it, and I’m so happy to have it.

Speaking of container gardening, I finally got something planted in the urns by the front door a couple of months ago.

photo

I went to Pikes looking for shade tolerant plants and ended up replicating one of the planters they had on display.

IMG_2285

 

photo

As for the rest of the yard, I’d like to fill in some of the beds we planted last year and plant summer annuals over the next few weeks. There’s also a pressing need to address our lawn since this happened:

photo

A few weeks ago we had a bobcat come in and clear the brush and 50+ year old blacktop from our side yard. The dumpster was placed in the front, and here’s the result:

photo

Thankfully, we’ve been planning on re-seeding late this Spring anyway. We will be busy bees! More on the brush removal in the rest of the yard later. That’s a monster for another post!

7 Responses to “The State of the Yard, Spring 2013”

  1. Karen Kibbee April 2, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    Your planters by the front door look awesome! Love the combination of plants and the containers are so classic looking. I just love all the pretty brick of your home. I am not a green thumb (in any way!) so I feel your pain of plantings that don’t quite live up to their potential. But love the new big planter and I agree with you about lemon cypress….looks great and smells good. Now if you can just keep the critters at bay!

    P.S. Love your peaceful looking cul-de-sac….what a great location!

    Have a great day Kate :)

  2. Gabbi @ Retro Ranch Reno April 2, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    You guys definitely have your hands full this year, and you’ve already made some great additions! I’m sorry your sunroom plans fell through…what a bummer. But like you said, there’s always next year! And at least, now you have some brand new things that you don’t need to worry about for quite some time! :)

  3. CSR April 2, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

    Your garden coordination continues to grow! Your pots look great!

  4. Amy April 4, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    Bah – I hate spending money on that kind of stuff! But I looooove your pretty new plants! Hurry up, spring!!!

  5. Diana @ Boy + Girl April 7, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

    I’m so jealous that it’s nice enough to even entertain the thought of planting. We still have chunks of snow on the ground here and there and we’re no where near not fearing frost. Your containers look great! I’m so looking forward to getting outside and working on our yard!

  6. Whitney @ drab to fab April 8, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    Your potted plants are gorgeous!! Believe it or not, I WISH my yard had that much grass…we are straight sand down here. ugh!

  7. Carrie April 8, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    The new bed looks amazing! Total transition :)

    I wish we we’re able to plant but we live in a garden apartment, on top of someone else. :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

