Around Here

12 May

We’ve been making small updates around the house over the last couple of months, so I thought I’d share some of the changes.

We made a headboard for the master bedroom and finally started decorating the space. Here’s what the room looked like the last time I shared it.

photo

photo

And now (though still much to do):

IMG_2628

IMG_2636

IMG_2635

I liked the prints of the vintage eggs I had over the dresser, but since you can see the maps we hung in the hallway from the bedroom door, it started to look too busy.

IMG_2637

I found these John Derian plates 40% off and couldn’t pass them up.

IMG_2335

The light fixture came from the Ballard Designs outlet for $50.

IMG_2642

I decided to move the rug that I purchased for the bedroom to the family room and start over in here. The neutral rug was too plain. Ideally I would find a fabulous vintage persian rug for here but finding one in the size I wanted would be waaaay out of budget. I ordered a sample of Pottery Barn’s Isaac Rug, and I think it will add the pattern the room needs.

IMG_2643

IMG_2645

IMG_2646

While substantially less expensive then a traditional persian rug, it still isn’t cheap so I’m slowly saving up for it. Also left to do is add a chair in the empty corner by the window:

IMG_2635

And replace the existing nightstands that match the bedroom set in the guest room. I’m also considering repainting because I have to repaint a room at least twice to call it done.

Here’s the old bedroom rug in the family room now:

IMG_2656

The herringbone seagrass rug I had it here has been moved to the empty formal living room. Rug musical chairs!

The guest room has also seen a few tweaks:

IMG_2651

I came across these smurf lamps at Target on clearance for $13.48 apiece a few weeks ago.

IMG_2546

I spray painted them cream and replaced the small Ikea lamps I previously had in here.

IMG_2653

A couple of months ago I came across one yard of quadrille contessa fabric on etsy for a steal. I was initially planning on using it in the master bedroom but changed my mind and used it to cover the existing pillow in here.

IMG_2652

I also finally filled the empty frames over the secretary and found a lampshade for the old alabaster lamp I purchased last year.

IMG_2654

Lastly, I’ve been working in the yard every chance I get in an effort to clean up our overgrown (understatement) back yard. And even though we had to push off converting our screened in porch to a sunroom this year, we decided to re-screen it now so we can enjoy it over the next year. It’s only costing us $100 in materials (why didn’t we do this sooner?) and will probably take another 2 or 3 days of work to complete. Here’ some progress shots:

IMG_2657

IMG_2658

I think we’re all caught up now! Until next time!

11 Responses to “Around Here”

  1. Gabbi @ Retro Ranch Reno May 13, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    I’m in love with your headboard and the light in your bedroom! They look absolutely perfect!! Gotta love all the small tweaks that help things feel more and more done! :)

  2. Karen May 14, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    First of all, I love your house and would kill for that screened porch…seriously awesome.

    Cannot believe you made that headboard…if you lived near me I’d hire you to make me one! Looks great. Love the Ballard’s light fixture and you are right about the Isaac rug…the pattern will look great in that room.

    Also, great job on the pillow and the lamp makeover in your guest room…both turned out great. Love that you find great bargains and make them look fanatastic!

    Question for you….is the rug in your family room (formerly in the master) a jute wool rug? And if so, did you get it from PB, and is it comfy on the feet, does it show dirt and how is it holding up? So many questions! :)

    Love how your home is coming together and how great it looks! Congratulations!

    • house185 May 14, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      Thank you so much, Karen! I really, really appreciate your kind words!

      Yes, the rug is PB’s wool and jute rug, and it is without a doubt the most comfortable rug I have ever had. It does not show dirt – I’m an embarrassingly infrequent vacuumer and the rug always looks great. It’s held up really well – no snags. I’d buy another in a heartbeat!

      • Karen May 17, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

        Awesome….good to know. I’m thinking about getting it for my new living room. Thanks! :)

  3. Kelly@Bungalow Blue May 15, 2013 at 10:30 am #

    You guys have been busy! Great job on the headboard – love how well all the neutrals work together in your home – beautiful!

  4. elizabeth May 15, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    everything looks fabulous! Love the headboard – we just made one for our master bedroom as well! Would mind sharing where you purchased the lamps on the dresser in your master? I just love them!

    • house185 May 15, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

      Thank you, Elizabeth! I got the lamps from JC Penny of all places. I purchased them late last year – I don’t know if they’re still available or not.

  5. Stacey June 10, 2013 at 8:39 am #

    Loving all the natural light you get in your bedroom! I think everything looks fab! Superb job on the headboard too!

  6. Whitney @ drab to fab June 19, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    Your home is so classic and beautiful!! All the changes you made look amazing, and I really love the new light above your bed!! The swap out of the prints over the dresser looks good too. Great job, lady!!

  7. mvwinter27 July 22, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    You’ve certainly been busy! Love the headboard, did you make that? It’s outstanding! I’m also really loving the secretary desk- is that in your guest bedroom or a foyer type area? We’ve been playing around with the idea of putting a desk in the “foyer” but sorta repurposing it as something else. I posted about it last week- would love your thoughts! The post was called Bargain Hunters. Thanks!

    • house185 July 24, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

      Hi There! Thanks for stopping by! Yes, we made the headboard, and it was surprisingly easy! The secretary is in the guest room, but it did briefly live in the foyer. I just prefered something that wasn’t so tall for that space. Checking out your blog now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

