Around Here

27 Jan

Remember a few months ago when I talked about renovating our linen closet? Really, how silly is it that we renovated a linen closet? But we did. We enclosed a weird vent, covered the existing washer/dryer hookups with a removable cover, and finally added shelves.

IMG_2965

IMG_2976

IMG_3046

IMG_3279

IMG_3304

IMG_3296

IMG_3306

There’s a bit of trim that needs to be added, which you can see in the bottom left in the photo above. We’ll get that added eventually, but for now it’s done. And more importantly, it’s functional!

I also got around to adding some curtains to the guest room.

IMG_4586

They are Ikea Ritva curtains. I purchased 2 panels, cut them in half, added a seam to the cut edge, and hemmed them. A lot of work, but I wasn’t interested in paying $100 for 4 full panels. They do close completely and cover the window should guests want to close them.

A while ago, I shared a picture of this cute little black table we received from family.

IMG_3363

It was in really rough shape. I used wood filler on the top to smooth out the gouges. After a good sanding, I primed and painted, and here it is now.

IMG_4563

Pretty cute, right? I used Sherwin Williams Urbane Bronze. I was going for more charcoal/black (which is what the swatch appears to be in the store and in my google image research), but I’m pleased with the green tone. Given the rest of my house, this isn’t a big surprise! It will live in this corner of the new office. Perfect fit!

Speaking of the office, my updates on the bookshelf progress stopped mostly because the actual progress did too. We got them to a decent place in time for Christmas and then life  got in the way. Here is how they stand now.

IMG_4598

IMG_4611_2

Since my last update, we added the trim and backing to the shelves. We planned on leaving the backs open to the wall, but because the walls aren’t plum, there were huge gaps between the back of the shelves and the wall. Adding the backing helps disguise the issue. Obviously, it would have been far better to add these from the get go. Adding them so late in the game resulted in a lot of extra work and a lot of extra curse words.

Steve has started working on constructing the doors for the bottom of the bookcases, I’d guess he’s about halfway done with them. Between his work schedule and other commitments though, it will probably be months before they are completely finished.

This weekend I got started on recovering the chair for the office. I purchased it for $20 from Goodwill 3 years ago.

Before:

IMG_3356

And now:

IMG_4616

IMG_4618

IMG_4620_2

IMG_4615

I got an itch to get this started, so I started stripping the fabric on Saturday. Doing this in the guest bedroom was probably not the best decision, but the chair won’t fit down the basement stairs (they are only 30 inches wide), and hauling it outside to the rear basement entry didn’t sound like any fun at all.  I still haven’t picked a new fabric, so I need to get on that!

Happy Monday, and thanks for checking in!

7 Responses to “Around Here”

  1. elizabeth January 28, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    Your linen closet looks beautiful! You’ve inspired me to freshen mine up with a coat of paint.

    Also, I can relate to the “extra work and extra curse words” I feel like we’ve tackled several projects like that :) and so excited to see what you do with the chair! You’re a brave woman! I’ve had a wing back chair with a half-sewn slipcover sitting in my office for two years!

  2. Karen January 28, 2014 at 4:15 pm #

    Wow, you really transformed that cute little table. So sweet to have a special family piece like that. Great job!

    Your linen closet looks fantastic! How great to have one that is so functional but also so pretty!

    Oh boy, that chair looks challenging! I would never even attempt something like that, but I am NOT a diyer. You will make it look great…I just know it! :)

  3. Marti January 28, 2014 at 8:28 pm #

    I love all your rooms. I’d show that linen closet too. Cute and functional. I’d love to have an office, especially one with all those cabinets. It’s going to look great. Have fun reupholstering.

  4. Eddie Ross January 29, 2014 at 2:25 pm #

    Love an organized linen closet, so pretty!
    E+J

  5. Gretchen February 19, 2014 at 2:50 pm #

    I really like what you’ve done! Can I ask where you got the chandelier for your office? We are looking for something similar.

    • house185 February 19, 2014 at 3:29 pm #

      Hi Gretchen! It’s from Ballard Design.

  6. Kelly@Bungalow Blue May 20, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

    The closet turned out beautifully – love the wooden shelves! There is nothing worse than those wire ones; everything always falls through the slits! Love, love, LOVE the built-ins in your study and can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

