Weekend Recap

29 Jan

This weekend I joined the modern world and got myself a Pinterest account. I’ve been browsing Pinterest for a long time and finally decided it was high time I made it official. You can follow me here if you’d like. I’d like to follow you!

I’m finally starting to get over the cold that knocked me out last weekend (and just in time for it to hit my poor husband). After spending Saturday morning at a baby shower for a dear friend, I spent the rest of the day painting my coat closet. Can you handle the excitement?

I know, not an exciting prospect. I naively thought it would be an easy task. It’s small! It will take no time!

But then I had to empty it.

And clean it.

And take care of old peeling paint on the trim inside the door.

Then I realized I was probably peeling up lead paint. So I just took all the trim off.

THEN I could start painting. The walls and baseboards were done around 9pm Saturday night. Crazy night, no?

But I wasn’t done. Sunday morning I started planning out the stripes.

Yes, stripes! In the coat closet! It took forever! But it’s so cute!

Just need to add back the new door trim we purchased and paint it. And add a new hanging rod. And shelves. And a new light fixture that doesn’t involve a bare bulb and a dirty pull string.

Then, I need to do the same thing to the linen closet and the pantry. Because they totally need to match now. Too much cuteness for just one closet!

7 Responses to “Weekend Recap”

  1. Whitney @ Drab to Fab Design January 30, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    This is one cute closet! I’m thinking about doing stripes in my living room…scary! When you pulled back your tape were your lines straight or did the paint bleed at all?

    • house185 January 30, 2012 at 10:31 am #

      No bleeding! After I put up the tape, I put a light coat of the base color paint on the edge of the tape so that if anything bled, it would be the color that was already there. But I won’t bother with this step again because frog tape is amazing. When I took the tape off, I could actually see the “edge” the tape formed to keep paint from bleeding through. I was also sure to take the tape up before the paint dried so it didn’t dry on the paint and peel when the tape was taken down.

  2. Diana @ Boy + Girl January 30, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    Wow! I never would have thought to do stripes in a closet but why not! A little burst of cuteness when you’re putting your coat on will have you leaving the house in a better mood! Love. Love. Love. It. I might have to copy you!
    -Diana

  3. Kelly@Bungalow Blue January 31, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    Great job! Painting stripes is tedious, but such a great way to add character to any space! I painted some at the top of the wall of a teeny-tiny nursery and it made the whole space look so much bigger.

  4. Megan March 19, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    Love it! Do you mind sharing what paint colors you used?

    • house185 March 19, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      Hi Megan!

      The lighter shade is Behr’s Eggshell Cream (also the color of my upper kitchen cabinets) and the darker is Glidden’s Sand White (also the color of the walls in my family room/kitchen). Thanks for reading!

  5. Mummyto2 May 21, 2014 at 4:29 pm #

    yup – totally doing this!!!!

Leave a Reply

