Thrift Store Score

9 Feb

On my way home from work last night I decided to take a detour to Goodwill. I was there a week or so ago and saw a gorgeous silver platter for $18. Come on, Goodwill. $18? I’ve purchased furniture there for less than that. I was hoping it would still be there and marked down to something a little more reasonable (gosh I sound cheap). It was gone, but I did see this:

An 8 seater, double pedestal dining table. For $50. Solid wood.

It’s mine.

My in-laws have a double pedestal dining table that is so lovely, and I’ve always wanted one of my own.  This table needs some serious work, but that’s okay! We have a bit of experience when it comes to refinishing furniture.

Like this craigslist apothecary cabinet.

And our current dining table (left in the basement by the previous owners).

We’ll get around to refinishing the new table soon enough. The old one will be put aside until we enclose our screened in porch. The table will make for a nice casual dining space out there one day.

5 Responses to “Thrift Store Score”

  1. Teresa @ wherelovemeetslife February 9, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    I am so jealous of your Goodwill find! :). We have the same problem with pricing at one of our local Goodwills as well.

    Can’t wait to see what you do with it. Are you thinking stain? Or paint?

    • house185 February 9, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      Hi! I’d like to stain it since the wood is so pretty, but I’m not opposed to painting it if that turns out to be the best option!

  2. Diana @ Boy + Girl February 10, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Wow! Great find! Solid wood – $50 bucks – no brainer! I can’t wait to see what you do with it! All of the other furniture you have refinished looks fabulous so I’m sure it will be great!
    -Diana

  3. Whitney @ Drab to Fab Design February 10, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    What an awesome find!! You guys definitely know what you’re doing when it comes to refinishing furniture, so I can’t wait to see what you do! I love that it seats so many too 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Entry and Hallway Plans « house185 - April 4, 2012

    […] and called it a day when our attention turned toward the yard and dining table. To be honest, I’m getting a little tired of the unfinished look. While I wait for the right […]

Leave a Reply

