New Home Buys

18 Feb

Well, now that we have internet again (apparently the cable wires running to the house can go bad?), check out my finds on a recent shopping trip to a few Atlanta antique stores and markets.

I thought this basket was too sweet to pass up.

It sits behind the couch and makes the perfect home for remote controls. For $15 it was a no brainer.

I also found this mirror marked down to $13.50.

With a fresh coat of paint, I think it will be lovely in the guest room above a dresser one day.

I also stopped into a furniture consignment shop, and I swear these queen anne dining chairs found me.

They are far from perfect condition, but you don’t buy second hand furniture for the pristine finish. We picked up 7 of these for $330 total. We cleaned them with Murphy’s Oil and waxed them with SC Johnson Paste Wax for wood. I’ll recover the seats (I took them out to clean the frames) then make short pleated skirts to update them a bit. I’m keeping the chairs wood because the table will be wood and the storage pieces in the room will be painted. I think it will make for a nice balance between wood and painted furniture.

Our new dining table seats 8. Since only 7 chairs were available, I’ll put 6 around the table and purchase 2 of these from Ikea.

On the rare occasions we have 8 people over, we’ll pull these up to the table. Otherwise they’ll sit in 2 corners of the room. The 7th wood chair will sit in front of a secretary desk we have that will one day live in the guest room (when we have an actual guest room meant for guests … not storage).

Speaking of the new dining table …

Steve started stripping the finish off the leaf last weekend.

Can’t wait to see it done!

3 Responses to “New Home Buys”

  1. Whitney @ Drab to Fab Design February 21, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    I love those chairs, and with that table…Beautimus! All the photos of your home are so gorgeous.

  2. Heather March 19, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Hi Kate! I found you via Holly’s site. I love your house and think you’re doing a great job! I just wanted to ask what color paint you used in your living/family room area (the room with the brick fireplace)? I know pictures can be deceiving, but it looks like a great neutral and I’m on the hunt…

    Thanks!

    • house185 March 19, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

      Hi Heather! So glad you stopped by! The color is Glidden’s Sand White. When Glidden last revamped their colors they took this one away, but it’s still in the system at Home Depot so you can get a sample. I’ve also found that it’s extremely similar to Ben Moore’s Coastal Fog.

Leave a Reply

