Crossing Off the To-Dos

27 Feb

How about a dining table update? So glad Steve likes refinishing furniture because I lack the patience for this process.

I’m told the top is mostly stripped at this point. He’s started working on the pedestal legs, too. The feet are in pretty rough shape, so we’re getting rid of the raised detail in an effort to smooth over the damaged parts. Steve’s planning on using a router to take the detail off, but I guess he got impatient and started at ’em with a chisel.

It will probably be a few more weeks until it’s ready for a new coat of stain.

I’ve been busying myself with smaller projects that have been on my To-Do forever. Like recaulking the line between the beadboard kitchen backsplash and the counters. I was getting kind of tired of looking at this:

An afternoon later, it was looking much better.

I also filled the seams between the bottom of the cabinets and the corbels we added. I caulked the seam after they were installed nearly 2 years ago, but the thin line was always visible. I slathered on some wood putty –

sanded it down and gave it a fresh coat of paint. It will never be perfect because it wasn’t installed at a perfect angle (oops), but it’s a marked improvement.

I also (finally) painted under the cabinets and did some touch up painting in the second bathroom. Not exciting projects, but man it feels nice to cross these off the to-do list!

In the midst of these projects, we celebrated our nephew’s first birthday this past Saturday.

How has a full year passed since I first met this sweet boy?

Someone didn’t get the stripes memo this year.

We had such a fun time celebrating with family and watching him poke at his smash cake.

I also made a much anticipated purchase last night. My very own Sodastream.

My sparkle water addiction just got 100 times more fun!

3 Responses to “Crossing Off the To-Dos”

  1. Whitney @ Drab to Fab Design February 28, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    I’m curious as to how Steve stripped the table?! Maybe you could put together a post with his help?! Crossing things off the To-Do is always a good feeling, no matter how big or small the project is! The caulk looks so much cleaner and brighter too!

    • house185 February 28, 2012 at 10:55 am #

      Hey Whitney! Sure thing. I’m fairly certain he’s taken pictures along the way.

  2. Diana @ Boy + Girl February 29, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Wow! The caulk makes such a differene on the countertop/backsplash! I can’t wait to see the finished table – it’s going to be gorgeous!
    -Diana

Leave a Reply

