Betwixt

13 Mar

I’ve been on the lookout for more pillows for the sectional in the family room for awhile. I’ve had a hard time picking something out because I’m afraid something with too much pattern or color will compete with the oversized prints on the wall. I’m certain there’s a way to do it, but it would require someone far more talented than me to put it together.

It’s difficult to tell in this photo, but the lighter colored pillows are actually in the same fabric as my striped background image. The lighting blew them out in the photo, but in actuality it looks much more like the stripes you see here.

I recently came across pillows on etsy made out of Shumacher’s Betwixt fabric in Biscuit/Ivory.

This particular pillow is from etsy seller NelsonDesign. I think the color of this fabric would tie into the gold tones of the prints I have. I ordered a swatch of the fabric, and it is a high quality linen – very lovely.  I’m trying to decide if I should make them myself, order them from NelsonDeisgn to save myself the hassle, or order the fabric and have them made locally. A tip I learned from Eddie Ross over the weekend was that many dry cleaners will sew pillows for a fraction of the price of seamstresses, and they’re just as capable.

I’ll price it out and keep you posted!

14 Responses to “Betwixt”

  1. Whitney @ Drab to Fab Design March 13, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    That fabric IS lovely! I didn’t know that about most drycleaners..thanks for the tip!

  2. Gabbi March 13, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Love that print! It would tie right in with the decor.

    And I didn’t know that about dry cleaners either. Good to know! 🙂

  3. Diana @ Boy + Girl March 14, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    I love that pillow! It would look great!

  4. Sherry Hart March 20, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    Betwixt is one of my favorite fabrics. It has the perfect small pattern with great texture! Those will look great on your couch. It also comes in a charcoal/off white that is wonderful.

  5. Pearl Cobarrubias March 21, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    I really like your oversized prints. Would you be willing to share where you purchased them.

  6. Erin March 30, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    I’m new to your blog via Holly Manthis and love what you’ve done to your house!
    I bought one of the oversized prints awhile ago, but haven’t framed it yet. Were did you get your frames? I look forward to reading more about your DIY adventures!

    • house185 March 30, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Hi, Erin! Thanks so much! I had a hard time finding an affordable framing option, so we made the frames ourselves. I had the prints mounted on foam core at Hobby Lobby (about $70 total), and my husband made the frames with an inset in the back for the prints to lay into. The foam core is actually just taped onto the wood frame with packaging tape. Looks pretty crazy from the backside, but it’s worked perfectly, haha.

      Please send a picture when you hang yours if you can! I love spotting the prints in difference spaces and seeing what others have done with them! Thanks so much for reading!

  7. Debbi Waller April 12, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    Where did you get your sectional? I’ve been looking for one that is three pieces….love seat, corner piece, love seat, and they are hard to come by.

    • house185 April 12, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      Hi Debbi! It’s the Ikea Ektorp sectional with the Svanby Beige slipcover. We’ve had it for nearly 5 years with no complaints.

  8. Cathy November 2, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    hi! was wondering how you keep the slipcover clean? do you machine wash?

    • house185 November 2, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

      Hi Cathy! In the past I’ve gotten the cushions dry cleaned, but it’s pretty expensive ($100+). I’m at the point where the main cover (over the arms and back) needs to be cleaned, and I’m not looking forward to the cost and living without a cover for a week. I’ve been seriously debating sticking a cushion in the washing machine on cold to test it out. I was trying to find someone online who has successfully washed one of these in the washing machine, and the comments of this blog post is the best I could find: http://oneprojectatatime.blogspot.com/2011/05/169-green-machine.html

      If I get brave and test out a cushion cover in the wash, I’ll let you know how it goes!

  9. Katie February 4, 2014 at 4:35 pm #

    Hi! I am wondering where ur living room and dining rooms’ sea gras/jute rugs are from? Thx!!

Leave a Reply

