Entry and Hallway Plans

4 Apr

Remember when my entry and hallway used to look semi-decent?

But then we decided the chair rail needed to go?

After the dust settled, we patched the walls …

… and called it a day when our attention turned toward the yard and dining table. To be honest, I’m getting a little tired of the unfinished look. While I wait for the right time to turn our attention back to the space, I decided to hunt down a new light for the entry.

In January we replaced the lights in the hallway from basic brass fixtures to these school house inspired lights from Lowes:

I’ve wanted something less generic in the entry but have had a hard time committing to anything. I mentioned in January that I thought I may go with this one from Amazon:

But I just never pulled the trigger. And I’m glad I didn’t, because I recently came across the Hundi Semi-Flushmount light  from Pottery Barn.

I’ve wanted a bell jar light for the entry, but our 8 foot ceilings wouldn’t accomodate one. I searched for a semi-flushmount version but never found anything under $400. So I was pleasantly surprised that Pottery Barn of all places came through for me with an affordable version ($199) of exactly what I wanted.

Of course I ordered it right away, and of course it’s on backorder until June 29th. Maybe (hopefully!) it’ll come back in stock sooner.

I’m hoping we’ll be able to turn our DIY efforts to the hall and entry soon. Here’s what the To-Do List looks like:

-Add crown molding

-Replace the attic stairs and door at the end of the hallway

-Add wainscotting the the walls. I’d like to go with something pretty traditional to match the style of the house like the pictures below.

Via

Via

-Add grass cloth wall paper above the new molding

-Have a rug custom cut and bound for the 20 foot hallway. I plan on having a piece of nice carpeting cut to the right dimensions and bound since 20 foot runners are either too expensive or too hard to come by.

-Buy a complementary rug for the entryway. I would love an antique rug for this area, but it’s completely unreasonable to pay so much for something so precious that will inevitably get cat vomit on it (just keeping it real).

-Buy an old chest to go in the entry. I’m hoping to find something with some storage in it, but I’m willing to deviate from that for the right piece at the right price.

-Figure out what to hang on the walls. A mirror in the entry perhaps? A collage in the hallway? I’m sure a plan will evolve as we go.

We have a nail gun on loan from my father, so the only thing in our way now is time. I find that the hardest part about most of our projects is finding the time to actually get them done!

5 Responses to “Entry and Hallway Plans”

  1. Gabbi April 5, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    I love all the plans you have for your entryway and hallway! Can’t wait to see the pieces start to come together! 🙂

  2. Diana @ Boy + Girl April 5, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Can’t wait to see this all come together. I love that light from PB. What a shock that it’s actually decently priced.

  3. Whitney @ Drab to Fab Design April 5, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    It’s going to look awesome. You have such great taste!! I agree with you on the time thing…it seems like when I do have some free time (aka the weekend) I dont want to spend the whole two days indoors!

  4. Julia @ Chris loves Julia April 6, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    I, too, am shocked at the price. Gorgeous find. Waiting is so hard, isn’t it? We are nearing the end of a 7-10 week wait on a couch and I can barely stand it. Anytime my phone rings with a long distance number I get embarrassingly excited.

    Thanks for stopping over our place, your home–both virtual and actual–is so inviting. I’ll be back for sure!

  5. Mom July 23, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    Hall fixture was well worth the wait.. Very nice

Leave a Reply

