27

12 Apr

This week brought with it another year of life. I find that I have no problem getting older (though I realize this is easy to say when you’re still in your twenties), but the pace with which the birthdays come is concerning! Wasn’t I just 22? No?

Judging by the generous gifts I received, you could say it was a landscaping themed birthday (and I wouldn’t have it any other way). My in-laws gifted me this fancy composter:

Admittedly, I know very little about composting, but I’m excited to learn! I can’t wait to feed all my new plants with nutrient rich compost soil and reduce our trash output while I’m at it.

I also received several gift cards to Pike Nurseries that I am itching to put to use. And I am officially one step closer to being able to use them! When Steve and I got home from my favorite tapas restaurant for my birthday dinner, we found a crew working away in our yard. After spending weeks trying to schedule someone to do this work, it was a nice surprise for sure.

They only got about 2.5 hours of work in, but they made great progress!

They trimmed up our boxwoods up front and cleaned up all the ivy and weeds growing under them.

They also removed the cleyera stumps that were on either side of this bed (they’ll finish clearning out the monkey grass next time). I’ll plant some small carissa holly bushes against the house and maybe fill in the rest of the area with annuals.

The cleyera stump in this corner by the steps was also removed.

They took out 2 large azeala stumps in this bed to make room for a dwarf conifer. I used marking spray paint so they know how large I’d like this bed to be the next time they’re out.

They cleared out a bed of ivy on the left side of our driveway (where the patch of dirt is now).

Next time they’ll clean up the areas around the crape myrtels …

… and take up the grass between these 2 crapes and the laurel to make room for something new. Maybe blueberry bushes?

They also cleared the ivy and vines that were basically choking the base of the azaleas before (this is on the far right side of the lot). They still have more work to do to the left. The rest of this area will be filled in with more azaleas.

On the right side of the house, the holly’s marked in paint will be cut to stumps to make room for a cluster of 3 arborvitaes. Steve’s aunt, a landscape designer, said the root systems don’t need to come out. The plan is to use the arborvitaes height to balance out the crazy change in grade on this side of the lot.

In front of the new arboritaes and behind the existing dogwood, we’ll plant a row of loropetalum in the this weed filled area. Hopefully that will be cleared soon too!

On the far right side of the lot, Steve’s aunt helped me establish this bed line with a hose. I came by later with spray paint. In the first curve we’ll plant a red bud tree.

Can’t you just see a sweet arbor with jasmine growing on it in between the beds I marked out here?

One day for sure.

In all it was a lovely birthday with a healthy dose of home improvement thrown in. Just like I like it.

8 Responses to “27”

  1. Gabbi April 13, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    Too funny because today is my birthday {turning 28} and I’m going to be landscaping all weekend long with my hubby, and my parents who are visiting us. Love it!

  2. Whitney @ Drab to Fab Design April 13, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    Happy birthday!! I love your lot so much. The more I see of it, the more I love it 🙂 You will do gorgeous things with it, for sure!

  3. Julia @ Chris loves Julia April 13, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Kate! Landscaping makes my head spin! I can’t wait to see more.

  4. Diana @ Boy + Girl April 14, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Happy Birthday Kate!!! You have a beautiful yard! I’m so excited to see it all come together. I’m so lost when it comes to landscaping!

  5. Hugh Saussy April 14, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Sounds as though you had a happy birthday – Wishing you a happy
    “Kate ” New Year. I enjoy you posts on 185 very much – I’ll send you some photos of my yard work which is ongoing in this climate where everything grows ten times faster than anywhere I have lived before. Love , Hugh

    • house185 April 14, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      Thank you so much, Hugh! I would love to see photos! I still have so much to learn when it comes to landscaping. I’m so thankful to have Lynn around, but I try not to take advantage of her willingness to help! 🙂

  6. Deanna @ TheChangingHouse April 16, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    You have a beautiful house and a wonderful yard! So lush!

  7. Kelly@Bungalow Blue April 17, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Happy belated birthday! I just ordered a composter for our house and I am so excited to get cracking on it. Beautiful pics of your yard…so green and lush!

Leave a Reply

