Around Here

8 May

I’ve been working on a hodge podge of projects lately. Lots of things started. Not a single one finished. How about a run down?

The landscapers came today to finish cleaning up the yard. Unfortunately I can’t start planting yet because we’ll have to wait 2 weeks for the round up they used to wash off. They’ll be back then to take up the grass and weeds they sprayed. In the meantime, there are a few areas I can get started on. Maybe this weekend!

Three or 4 weeks ago, I did go ahead and plant a bed around our mailbox. This little corner of the yard is looking much better these days.

I thought redoing our entry and hallway would be next on our interior to do list, but it’s been bumped in favor of the bedrooms. Our bedroom is currently my least favorite space in the house. The room gets very little natural sunlight and isn’t very inviting. We’ll purchase all new furniture and upgrade to a king sized bed and move the current queen set into the guest room.

In preparation, I painted the guest room this weekend in Ben Moore’s Camouflage. This room has historically been the spot for everything that didn’t have a home or that we didn’t feel like taking into the basement. I’m really ready to not be faced with this mess every time I walk down the hallway.

Pre-painting:

My plan was to empty out the room before I painted, but I quickly realized I could just push everything to the center of the room. Lazy wins every time. Clearing it out is on my list for this weekend. Promise.

I’ve also started some projects in the dining room. The dining table Steve is refinishing is probably 80% sanded. I’m trying to sell our current dining chairs on craigslist to make room for the new ones. As part of the dining room update, I’m making new curtains and swapping out the prints currently on the wall for silver platters I’ve been collecting.

One curtain panel is currently in process. Here it is with a swatch of the fabric I’m going to use for some pillows in there:

I was kind of sad taking the prints off the the dining room wall because I like them so much, so I decided to use them in the kitchen. Here’s where they started:

And in their new home:

The prints are free from Vintage Printable. If anyone is interested in them, you can find them here along with many others.

I also picked up these plates at an estate sale a few weeks ago:

I’m going to hang them on either side of the window in the dining room with the milk glass plates above them in the photo.

So I’m a little bit of everywhere these days. I’m hoping to get started on our bedroom soon (because why not start something new when I have 5 other things going?) – updates on that coming soon.

10 Responses to “Around Here”

  1. Diana @ Boy + Girl May 9, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    I love those milk glass plates! And the dining room prints look great in your kitchen – I’m glad you got to use them somewhere. They’re way too pretty to go into hiding. I wish I could plant a nice little garden around our mailbox but it’s basically on the shoulder of the road.

  2. andrea May 9, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    I was wondering what the name of the striped fabric is and where you got it? I really like it.

  3. Anna May 9, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Where did you get the shelves above your buffet?

    Great Blog 🙂

    • house185 May 9, 2012 at 10:30 am #

      Thanks, Anna! We made the shelves ourselves. The brackets are from home depot.

  4. Whitney @ Drab to Fab Design May 9, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    Love your plans! You have great style. can’t wait to see it all come together!

  5. Gabbi May 9, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    I can completely understand how you feel!! I am the same way right now…I have a million things going on, and nothing is getting “done”. I can’t wait to see all of your projects come together and good call on the king sized bed! We loveeee having one! 🙂

  6. Melanie @ Mailbox Journey May 10, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Your mailbox looks way better. I somehow missed this post – I thought I was subscribed to you thru Google Reader, but I guess not. 😦

  7. Vicki Sievers May 19, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    I just had to tell you that that was the same dishware as my Grandmother had, that we ate from every night. When she died, it wasn’t anything of monetary value that I wanted, it was her dishes. And I got them. They are chipped and well worn, but I love with all my heart. Your post made me feel close to her again. Thank you for that. You see, you never know what you are doing for another person in an ordinary day.
    Blessings to you and yours.

    • house185 May 19, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      Vicki, what a wonderful comment! I am so, so happy that something on my silly little blog resulted in such a positive emotional response for you. I will treasure these beautiful plates even more now. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

