Dining Room (Re) Redo

7 Aug

Since last February, we’ve been slowly making changes in our dining room. It started innocently enough when I came across this table at Goodwill for $50.

You may remember that we already had a perfectly fine dining table. And chairs and curtains and wall art and all the other makings of a complete room. But I had never really been happy with the dining chairs we had, so when I spotted these chairs at a consignment shop I knew they would be coming home with me. Thankfully I was able to sell the existing chairs on craigslist and covered the cost of the new chairs.

And things kind of snow balled from there. Soon enough I was tracking down new fabrics and switching out the wall art.

Amazing how that happens, right? I’m just glad I still love the wall color (Ben Moore Camouflage). I’m too embarrassed to tell you how many coats of paint I put on those walls before settling on this.

But the room is finally starting to come together … again. Steve’s been working hard to refinish the Goodwill table little by little as he has time. I’m typically really involved in projects around the house, but I’m happy to leave the dirty job of sanding to him. And as of this weekend, we’re much closer to the staining phase. Here’s one of the pedestal legs in sanding central (the basement). You can see the top sitting on a table in the background.

When the table is done, the room will be (mostly) ready for it. Before I show you the progress, let’s take a moment to appreciate where it started.

That’s vinyl wall paper y’all.

And here’s the first redo:

And today:

There were only 7 of the new chairs available, so I bought 2 of these Ikea Henriksdal armchairs to add to the ends of the table should we need to add the leaf and seat 8.

As you can see, I still need to reupholster the chair seats. I’m also going to make some skirted slip covers for the seats. Probably like the picture below from here.

I would say it’s nice to have the room back together again, but here’s what it looks like currently:

You’re looking at the contents of my pantry here (clearly I have no shame). After a large grocery haul last week I decided our pantry needed to be re painted and organized right that very second. More on that project later!

12 Responses to “Dining Room (Re) Redo”

  1. Whitney @ drab to fab design August 8, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    It’s looking so good!! I can’t wait to see that table in place! I love your glamourous gallery wall you’ve got going on in there too 🙂

  2. dailyboyd August 8, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Lookin’ good. You are out. of. control. Poor Steve. And if I don’t see you working on the guest room soon I’m going to make reservations somewhere else.

    • house185 August 8, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      Hold the ‘tude, sister. The guest room is high on the priority list.

  3. Gabbi August 8, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Wow, you have really made some major progress! And I’m in love with the table and chairs you’ve acquired…even better that selling the old chairs covered the new chairs!

    And don’t worry…my house constantly looks like a disaster before it comes together. I’m thoroughly convinced a place needs to look like a bomb went off before it can improve. 😉

    Can’t wait to see the end result!

  4. Dianne Ewin August 10, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Could I ask about your second picture where you are showing your “new” chairs? Is that your living room? It is shaped so much like mine and I am wondering how you arrange your furniture in it? Maybe it’s your den?

    • house185 August 10, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      Hi Dianne! That’s the formal living room. You can see some better pictures at the very end of the house tour page here: https://house185.wordpress.com/house-tour/ We’ve done absolutely nothing to it, but I have a good idea about how we’ll arrange the furniture. The couch will stay on the wall it’s on and we’ll add two chairs on either side of the pedestal table between the windows. To fill the walls on either side of the doorways on the ends of the room, we’re going to add built in bookcases. Thanks for reading!

  5. Kelly@Bungalow Blue August 14, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Lookin’ good!!! Love the new old table you found and can’t wait to see your after pictures! I scored some Queen Anne-style chairs similar to yours a while back….$100 for a set of four and have been slowly, but surely sanding them down to refinish them, too….it’s hard to get motivated to do it for yourself when you get paid to do it for others, haha! Can’t wait to see the finished dining space!

  6. Mom August 17, 2012 at 6:48 am #

    It really looks great! I remember looking at chairs that very cold day in January.

  7. rachel April 8, 2014 at 9:49 pm #

    It looks awesome! we’ve been looking everywhere for a chandelier like that. Where did you find yours? Thanks

  8. Jennifer February 18, 2015 at 10:31 pm #

    Hi! Just stumbled on your blog while searching for “custom rugs” and found your hall runner and tutorial. Love your style! Beautiful job on each space. Where did you purchase your rug in the dining room? Thanks so much!

    • house185 February 19, 2015 at 9:03 am #

      Hi Jennifer! Thanks so much! I purchased that rug through Natural Home Rugs. Great prices!

Leave a Reply

