Mirror Switcheroo

12 Sep

Alternative title: Finally Something on My Bedroom Walls After Three Years

Maybe you remember this mirror that’s been hanging out in our hallway for a month or so (it’s actually just a thrift store frame that a $15 Ikea frameless mirror happened to fit into perfectly).

Prior to that in hung in our dining room.

But now it’s filling out a bare bedroom wall quite nicely if I do say so myself.

I flanked the mirror with vintage prints of bird eggs from (my favorite) Vintage Printable. You can find the prints I used here if you’re interested.

Ideally the mirror and collage of pictures wouldn’t be wider than the dresser, but I think we all know sometimes tape measurers lie and grossly miscalculate the width of such things (ahem).

The frames I used for the pictures were white initially …

But I knew that could be easily changed. I started by spray painting them with black paint and followed up with some Rub N Buff in Antique Gold. I put the base layer of black on just in case the gold didn’t cover completely or I missed a spot. Like here:

I liked the Rub N Buff but wish I had practiced with it on a scrap piece of wood or something first because it took me a while to get the hang of it. I ultimately found that I got the best coverage by applying it with a paper towel. Redoing all 6 frames was kind of a pain, but I’m happy with the results. And bonus point: it matches the mirror frame quite well.

The only problem was that the mirror switcheroo left my entry mirrorless. Luckily I still had this mirror I picked up at a thrift store for $13 a while back laying around.

And after some glossy black paint, things are looking a little more finished in the entry again too.

I’ll probably rehang it a bit higher in the future, but I was too lazy didn’t want to screw new anchors into the wall.

Let’s hope it doesn’t take another 3 years to hang something over our (still headboard-less and duvet cover-less) bed!

3 Responses to “Mirror Switcheroo”

  1. Whitney @ drab to fab September 13, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    I LOVE it!! I’ve never used Rub n Buff but have heard good things. I think the black one looks great in your entryway too!

  2. Gabbi September 13, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Ohhh I love the new “home” you have for both mirrors! I take forever to get things up on the walls too. I have no idea why, but I hate to hang things hehe.

  3. Diana @ Boy + Girl September 14, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    I love the way that mirror looks in your entry way! Very polished! I’m with Gabbi – I hate hanging things!

Leave a Reply

