A Guest Room Fit For Guests

18 Sep

A couple of months ago my sister asked me if we could put her, my brother-in-law, and nephew up for a night on their way from New York to Alabama for a beach trip. A rare chance to see some of my favorite people? Yes, please! But our guest room was no place for guests, so over the last couple of weeks we’ve made the room over as an acceptable place for friends and family to settle into for a visit.

I don’t have a good before picture of the space because it’s been used for nothing but storage over the last few (eek, yes, few) years. I recently repainted the room though, and here’s a picture of that in process:

Fortunately after using largely what we already owned, the room is looking a little homier now.

When we purchased a king sized bed and new dressers for our master bedroom, our old bedroom set and rug were moved in here. Once we find new nightstands for the master, the ones that match this set will be moved in here too. For now, the old Ikea side tables from our first apartment will do!

On the right wall, we moved in a secretary from Ikea that we purchased several years ago. A leftover dining chair found its home here too.

I’ll recover the chair seat when I get around to recovering the rest of the dining chairs. I have all of the supplies for this project but am lacking the motivation to take it on. I’ll also fill the frames soon too.

I filled the space above the bed with a collage of items already owned.

On the left are a couple of post cards that I thought were pretty enough to frame. Above them is a framed (paper) butterfly. The mirror is from Ballard Designs that I picked up from the outlet a couple of years ago. The pressed flowers were an etsy find, and the frame below them holds our wedding invitation.

If I were to do it again, I would space these out just a little bit more. Maybe I’ll change it one day, but it bothers me less than the work required to patch the nail holes, touch up the paint, and rehang 🙂

Across from the bed is the dresser with a mirror I found at Home Goods. The mirror frame is grass cloth and really lovely.

The overhead light fixture is from Ikea. I wasn’t really sure what I wanted for the space, but I knew that the original fixture in the room was due for an upgrade.

I think the new fixture is $30 well spent.

The duvet cover is also from Ikea. I made the pillow from our old dining room curtains (Pottery Barn’s Simone print).

The pillow cases are vintage. One says “His” and the other says “Hers” which I think is really sweet. I picked them up at Scott’s Antique Market last Winter, and I used these instructions from The Laundress (and their supplies!) to brighten them up and make them look brand new.

Between the closets, I added a few small hanging vases from CB2 that I purchased months and months ago.

You may have noticed the bolt of fabric leaning against the secretary.

I purchased this striped fabric to make a simple slipcover for the headboard. I liked the idea of breaking up all the wood (remember, there will be wood night stands too), but Steve told me the room was looking too “Granny” so I decided to leave it as is. Thankfully, I purchased just enough to make curtain panels for one window. I still need to purchase more to do the other window, but I’m glad that I can still use the fabric. And Steve’s assessment probably wasn’t too far off. I’m happy to compromise.

The fabric, from Lewis and Sheron, can we found here.

So that’s the guest room! I’m happy to report that our very first guests got a good nights rest in the space. But to be fair, they were coming off a 16 (!!) hour car ride with a toddler, so I think most any space would have been suitable for them.

Hopefully before our next guests arrive I’ll have the blank frames filled and the curtains up! Hope you’ve enjoyed the tour!

12 Responses to “A Guest Room Fit For Guests”

  1. Mom September 19, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    Outstanding decorating ..and on a very conservative budget. I look forward to being a guest 🙂

  2. Whitney @ drab to fab September 19, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    I agree with your mom….you decorated so well with what you already owned! The new light fixture definitely brings it up a notch…where did you get it?

  3. Lindsay September 19, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    Wow you did a fantastic job! I have those nightstands in our guest room and hung the same light fixture in our office 🙂 great minds haha

    • house185 September 19, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      Love it! Great minds indeed 🙂

  4. Desiree September 19, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    I love what you’ve done with your guest room. I’m currently in the middle of sprucing up our guest room on a zero budget. Too funny, we have the same side tables from our first apartment and overhead light from God knows when! loving that Ikea one you used. the whole room looks so cozy 🙂

    • house185 September 19, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      Thanks so much, Desiree! Sounds like those $15 tables really came through for a lot of newlyweds, haha!

  5. Gabbi @ Retro Ranch Reno September 20, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    The space looks so homey…a perfect spot for guests to rest and relax! 🙂

  6. Beth September 22, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    What color are the walls? Looks great!

    • house185 September 22, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      Hi Beth! It’s Ben Moore Camouflage.

  7. Kelly@Bungalow Blue September 23, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    It looks great! What a difference a coat of paint can make 🙂

  8. Diana @ Boy + Girl October 2, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Wow! Your guest room looks great! I can’t believe you transformed it mostly with stuff you already had!

Leave a Reply

