My Hallway Might Kill Me

12 Nov

Y’all. Wainscoting is no joke.  Actually, crown moulding isn’t either. And we’ve been knee deep in both for the last 4 weeks. That’s 1 weekend to hang the crown moulding, 1 weekend to start the wainscoting, 1 weekend spent in Savannah vacationing and half-marathoning, and 1 more weekend hanging wainscoting. The good news is we’re almost done! Yeah!

I used my day off in honor of Veteran’s Day to fill and sand and sand and sand and sand. And then sand some more. But I’m almost done! Then I can caulk and caulk and caulk some more. Then paint and paint and paint some more. Lucky me!

But let’s focus on progress made, yes?

As a reminder, we started here:

Then we took the chair rail down and patched the walls:

Then we stared at it like that for … 10 months.

And here we are now:

We still need to add a 1×2 decorative ledge around the top to finish it off, but that seems like the easy part compared to all the sanding, caulking, and painting ahead of us.

I’m painting the upper portion of the walls Sherwin Williams Pavestone which I picked up this weekend during SW’s 40% off sale.

In the entry, I’m going to get the Brandon Rug from Pottery Barn. I have it in my kitchen as well and love it.

Down the long hallway, I’m going to have a custom rug cut and bound from a piece of carpeting. The Martha Stewart carpet line at Home Depot now offers custom cut rugs, but when I went to check it out the sales person didn’t have a lot of information. Assuming this turns out to be a viable (aka affordable) option, I’m thinking of going with the Mount Vernon Gray Squirrel carpet.

Stay tuned for more progress next week! In the meantime, I’m resting my weary arms on the sofa in front of Sarah 101 enjoying my favorite single girl dinner (cereal and red wine) while Steve is out for the evening. It’s a winning combination that has never let me down.

5 Responses to “My Hallway Might Kill Me”

  1. Katie November 13, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Oh, my. That does look like a buttload of caulking, puttying and painting. You have my sympathy. 🙂 But it’s gonna look great when it’s finished! So you guys put up the crown moulding too? Good for you! My husband works in residential building and called it quits on the crown moulding in our house after doing the mudroom, which is literally probably 5′ x 5′. I think some people just weren’t built with patience for trimwork. Our basement bathroom has been prepped and ready for wainscoting for about six months now. Who knows if and when it will ever get finished.

    ps. Awesome supper. 🙂

    • house185 November 13, 2012 at 9:31 am #

      Yes, we did the crown moulding too! Thankfully my husband is very patient with these projects! The hall bathroom is the only space in the house without it now! Good luck on your projects – it is a lot of work!

  2. Diana @ Boy + Girl November 14, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    Omg. Sanding is the worst! I feel your pain there! Your entry is looking awesome though! I can’t wait to see it all come together. The rug combo is beautiful!

  3. Gabbi November 15, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    Oh my gosh….so much work! I can’t wait to see it all done. It’s going to look fab, and will be TOTALLY worth it! 🙂

  4. Robertson November 15, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Looks great. I am sure you are a caulking artist by now – and Steve’s second profession is certainly becoming a carpenter – and no doubt more projects to come!

Leave a Reply

