2012 House Projects

6 Jan

Now that the 2013 goals are out-of-the-way, I want to take a look back at what was accomplished in 2012.

I started the year by making curtains for the family room and called this room done.

fr curtains

familyroomafter

Later in January we had recessed lights and pendant lights added to the kitchen and family room.

recessedlights

Next up, I over-hauled our coat closet.

photo

photo

About six months later, I gave the pantry a similar re-do.

photo

In March we purchased a new dishwasher which we thought was the last kitchen project.

photo

photo

But a few weeks ago, I recolored the grout in here with Grout Renew, just like I did in the hall bathroom. Now it’s done! Here’s a shot in-process:

photo

We kind of accidentally re-did the dining room. Here are some pictures of the room completely done with the new dining table and upholstered chair seats.

photo

 

photo

 

photo

 

photo

My favorite project of the year was landscaping our yard. It’s been about 7 months, but the plants are already much larger.

photo (6)

My second favorite project was the hallway and entry where we added crown molding and replaced the chair rail with traditional wainscoting.

entryafter

hallafter

We started re-doing the master bedroom by purchasing a king sized bed, new dressers, a rug and painting the walls. Still a LOT to do in here.

photo

We moved the old bedroom furniture and rug into the guest room and mostly finished that space too.

photo

And that’s our 2012 in review!

13 Responses to “2012 House Projects”

  1. Gabbi January 7, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

    Holy moly you guys did a heck of a lot last year! Your house looks great, and I can’t wait to see you cross your 2013 goals off the list! 🙂

  2. Rachel January 7, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    Wowzers – you got a ton done last year and it all looks fabulous!! I am especially digging your pantry. Gorgeous, gorgeous.

  3. Karen January 8, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    You really did a lot last year! As I’ve told you before, I LOVE your home and your style. So clean, classic and fresh. Love your neutral colors (and your Gunneras (?) in the family room) and your sofa….love your kitchen colors, the cabinets and that you didn’t do stainless (not a stainless fan)….and I really love your clean style. Can’t wait to see what you accomplish in 2013! All the best 🙂

  4. Whitney @ drab to fab January 8, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    Wow you guys got so much done around your house, and it looks amazing!! Don’t you love how you never even planned on doing some of those projects and then they just jump at you?! I love your entry way so much!

  5. casacaudill January 16, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    Your house is so lovely. Congrats on so much great work. (Came over from Old Town Home.)

  6. Jillian May 3, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

    Hi! Found you through Holly Mathis, and love all the updates you’ve made. The hallway is my favorite (ok, maybe the living room is!). Great job! Do you mind me asking where your LR (sorry… You call it family room) rug is from? Thanks!!

    • house185 May 4, 2013 at 7:28 am #

      Thanks so much Jillian!! It’s from naturalarearugs.com

      • Jillian May 4, 2013 at 8:01 am #

        Thank you! Last question, I promise: is it sisal? And is it comfy to walk on? I’m considering and indoor/outdoor sisal for my living room since we have a dog and a 2-year-old and was just wondering if it was scratchy. Thanks again!!

      • house185 May 4, 2013 at 8:08 am #

        It’s seagrass. It’s not scratchy, but the herringbone pattern is raised and not all that comfortable on bare feet. Actually, my two year old nephew complained about it when he laid on it for a diaper change. It is virtually indestructible though. I have another seagrass rug in the dining room with a different pattern (panama or half panama I think) that’s much easier to walk on because the pattern is flat.

        I don’t think seagrass is any more or less comfortable than sisal, but from what I understand it cleans up much easier. Hope this helps!

  7. Cheryl January 4, 2015 at 5:09 pm #

    Hi, what color did you paint the foyer? LOVE the board and batten!

    • house185 January 5, 2015 at 10:09 am #

      Hi there! It’s pavestone by sherwin Williams.

  8. Karen April 7, 2015 at 10:01 pm #

    Hi Kate,
    Your home is so lovely, you’ve done an amazing job! I thought I remembered that you have the Ikea sectional in your family room. Do you like it? How many can it seat? I have the regular Ektorp sofa and I’m thinking of getting the sectional. Thanks so much for your help!

    Karen

    • house185 April 8, 2015 at 1:30 pm #

      Hi Karen! I do like it a lot! We’ve had it since 2007, three moves, and three different slipcovers. There are 5 cushions, but it seats 4 comfortably. I’ve always thought it was very comfortable, but compared to our pottery barn sofa it’s a bit hard. Can’t beat it for the price though!

Leave a Reply

